Random Acts of Kindness

The kindness of strangers

Image by Ed Yourdon via Flickr

Every day we lead our lives thinking only of our self. We look around and see all of those that surround us, but how many times do we stop to help others?

Rarely have I ever seen it done, those random acts of kindness, and rarely have I done them myself. It is not out of indifference or unkindness that I avoid such things. It comes from a sense that they are not perceived well by society.

I don’t now if it’s surprise or fear that leads people in my culture to react badly to these random acts of kindness, but it’s is always ill received. In some ways I understand the reaction, I’ve felt it myself. It like: Why is this stranger helping me?

I hope that we will soon reach the day where these acts of kindness are normal and a day to day event.

So have you ever committed a random act of kindness?

And what can we do to make these wonderful acts a common event?

Tagged ,

One thought on “Random Acts of Kindness

  1. I hope they become more common and people aren’t so surprised by them. I have an apple campaign I have posted on my blog if you care to read. I’m hoping more people will do this.

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

