Oh I Can Do It Tomorrow…

alarm clock, bought from IKEA

Image via Wikipedia

So a few days ago I proudly stated that I would be starting a new regular exercise program. Well lets just say it’s easier said than done, and almost a week later I still haven’t worked out a single day. Yes I know It’s shameful. My original plan was to go running during the week and go swimming in the weekends, there is only one problem with this plan: waking up early. Every night I stubbornly set my alarm to 7 a.m. and say to myself: When it rings tomorrow morning I will get up immediately. And the next morning I hear the alarm, turn it of, and go back to sleep.

The not working out part isn’t really what’s annoying me the most, it’s the lack of free time I have to develop my personal projects when I start the day at noon or later. When you sleep trough half of your day, you’ll probably find yourself banging your head against a wall saying: What a waste of time!

So why do we procrastinate?

Why do we leave things we could’ve done today, for tomorrow? And how can we stop doing it? Most of us do it because we’re afraid of failure or maybe we just cant get over the inertia. Whatever the problem at the end of the day it’s a matter of getting yourself to do it. And knowing that if you do it today it will make it easier to do tomorrow.

I wish I could give you better advice than this, but honestly I’m still struggling with it myself. You need to find something to live for, something that makes you want to spring out of bed every morning and to your to do list.

Also check out this blog post:

5 ways to get up in the morning

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Oh I Can Do It Tomorrow…

  1. Welcome to the program known as well intentioned procrastination!
    Chris

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

