Scheduling Your Life

The Passage of Time

Image by ToniVC via Flickr

Do you have a thousand projects going on all at the same time? And does it sometimes feel like a nightmare to schedule time for each and every one of them? Being that I’m still finishing my college degree I often have to share my time between different projects, so I know exactly how you feel.

I’ve heard a few theories on how to plan your day and work schedule. Some defend you should mark specific goals on all your projects each day, others say you should select a day in the week for each of your projects, other say you should do your projects according to the due date attached to them.

But honestly none of these work perfectly for me. And I’ll tell you why.

Specific goals on all your projects each day:

Well the most obvious problem with this idea is that the day isn’t long enough. No matter how much I try I don’t have enough hours in the day to spend an hour in each of my projects. And anything less than that is a pure waste of time.

Select a day for each of your projects:

Okay maybe this can work! And it does, kind of, as long as you don’t have more than seven projects in your hands it’s perfect. I mean, perfect until someone decides to throw you a curve ball and some kind of emergency happens and you suddenly have a project due tomorrow in the day that you where supposed to be doing something else.

Follow your due dates:

The problem with this is that no matter how good you are you’ll always be rushing to finish the next job. Believe me it’s a terribly stressed way to live your life.

So I’m trying something else. I decided to combine the a project a day program with the follow your dates program. So here’s my plan:

1 hour a day for word press bloging (of course)

2 hours for next to deliver projects (this can be reduced to 1 hour if there are no projects to deliver the following week)

1 hour for exercize

All the other hours for unchangeable commitments and the selected project of the day.

Does it work? I have no idea, but if it does I’ll let you know.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Scheduling Your Life

  1. Yes Yes.. I scheduled a moment to answer this..we need answers and solutions more than everI am looking to you to do that!,

    • Marta Sofia says:

      First of all let me thank you for taking the time to read my post and specially comment on it.

      Today is my first day putting my theory to the test. But looking at my schedule and daily planner I say it’s the best I’ve ever tried. 😛

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

