What Will you Take With You to Your Old Age?

Old Age

Image by sean_hickin via Flickr

While checking my subscriptions I found a post by Piglet in Portugal on this weeks photo challenge: Old. Besides the beautiful picture he told us about how he took it and asked us a very interesting question: “I’ve already asked our kids when I end up in an old folks home to make sure I have my computer and a couple of pots to grow some vegetables in… What would you take with you?”

Well that’s quite a question isn’t it? My grandmother is sick, alzheimer, it’s a terrible disease and I wouldn’t wish it on anyone. But it caused me to change prespective on what I would like to take with me when I’m heading for the old people home.

If you had asked me a few years ago what I would take with me, I would have told you without hesitation: all my books, my drawing material and a notebook. And that will still be my answer if I reach old age with my head in perfect condition.

But if, god forbid, I need help remembering who I am then I would simply ask: for my journals and pictures from all my loved ones.

I thank all those wonderful “old” people that populate my life making it better every day. And for all of you I wish that you grow old gracefully and healthy, if not in the body, than at least in the mind.

My thanks to Piglet in Portugal for the inspiration for this article.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “What Will you Take With You to Your Old Age?

  1. Beautiful Marta! And if I cannot take my mind I would like to take grace and peace!
    Chris

  2. Hi Marta,

    Great post..! Getting old is bad enough but losing your marbles that’s a completey different ball game!
    I pray to God I keep mine…BTW I am a she 🙂
    cheers
    PiP

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

