How Would Life Be Like Without Siblings

Two Mallard ducklings (Anas platyrhynchos) at ...

Image via Wikipedia

How would your life be different if you had grown up without any siblings?

prompt by Plinky

I often hear friends talking about their brothers and sisters, about the fights and the play times, the sharing a house and the companionship, and all the other things that having a sibling means.

But I know nothing about these things. I’m an only child.

So I know exactly what it’s like to not have any siblings. Most of the times it’s  lonely, you have no one to play with, which is why children with no siblings get so close to their parents. You learn to play on your own and talk to your parents every chance you get. It’s a lonely, special little world that you create around you, and it has it’s own magic.

So the more appropriate question for me would be: How would your life be different if you had grown up with siblings?

The truth is I never really wanted a brother or sister growing up, I loved having my parents and the holidays for my self. But looking back I can see it would have been good in many ways.

I think I would of learned to stick up for myself a lot sooner, and became more independent. Brothers can teach you how to take criticism, and that it’s okay to be different. They are also a companion in games and some one to talk to. You learn to do more because your parents have more in their hands.

With all the drags of having a brother or sister I still think it’s a wonderful thing, so count your blessings and cherish your siblings. It’s hard to grow up alone!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “How Would Life Be Like Without Siblings

  1. […] How Would Life Be Like Without Siblings (lifesmaze.wordpress.com) […]

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

