The Gap Between Knowledge and Execution

I found this video by radio personality Ira Glass in Careann’s Musings on their post entitled: Trying and falling short. Then what?

I felt like this ever since I started doing creative work. It’s as if there’s a disconnect between what you envision in your mind, and what is being created in front of you. And it’s incredibly frustrating. I wish I could say that I see the progress. That I see it getting better every day, but I don’t. All in all no one has ever achieved anything without lots of practice. So I guess Ira’s right and all you have to do is do lots of work.

But in society these days it’s not so easy to just do the work. There’s allot of pressure on people to do great work from the start. Which leaves no space for trial and error, mistakes and learning. We’ve heard dozens of times that failure is a good thing, but we still live in a society with no tolerance for it.

For everyone out there starting at their area, whether it’s creative or not, I wish you the best of luck and allot of patience. There’s no such thing as talent just hard work!

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “The Gap Between Knowledge and Execution

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog, and the link back to today’s post. The statement Ira makes is both simple and profound, isn’t it? The gap between knowing what we want to do or to produce, and being able to do so perfectly, narrows with practice, and that makes sense to me. If we quit trying too soon, we’ll never know how close we might have gotten to our goal. I don’t really agree with you, however, that there is no such thing as talent. With hard work we achieve much, but if there is also talent the hard work will hone it beyond anything we could have achieved without talent. At least that’s my take on it. 🙂

    • Marta Sofia says:

      Thanks for visiting my post Carol. : D
      I hope your wrong about the talent part tough 😛 don’t get me wrong, it’s just that I never felt I had any talent for drawing and now it’s part of what I do for a living.
      At the end of the day it really doesn’t matter what it is, as long as you have fun with it right?

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

