NaNoWriMo

Okay it’s official I’m nuts! I decided to participate on National Novel Writing Month.

The idea is quite simple write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days that’s 1667 words a day.

I’m doing it not because I’m a writer, or because I always wanted to publish a novel. I’m doing it because It’s a challenge and It’s a way to prove to myself that I can do anything I set my mind to. So wish me luck!

So entering this contest rose a few questions. First one: What exactly is a novel?

NaNoWriMo tells us: “We define a novel as “a lengthy work of fiction.” Beyond that, we let you decide whether what you’re writing falls under the heading of “novel.” In short: If you believe you’re writing a novel, we believe you’re writing a novel too.”

This didn’t exactly satisfy me so I turned to wikipedia: “A novel is a book of long narrative in literary prose. The genre has historical roots both in the fields of the medieval and early modern romance and in the tradition of the novella. The latter supplied the present generic term in the late 18th century.”

That’s more like it!

My second question was: Do I have to write it in English (my mother tongue is Portuguese)?

NaNoWriMo answers again: “You bet! We are very proud to be an international event, and don’t consider the “National” in the title to refer to the United States. This is an event for all nations. We’d change the name to “International Novel Writing Month,” but InNoWriMo doesn’t roll off the tongue in quite the same way.

You can write novels in any language you like. Our validator doesn’t handle non-Latin characters sets, sadly, so there may be an issue with becoming an official winner. But this is just icing on the NaNoWriMo cake, and we encourage you to write in whatever language is most comfortable for you.”

So that’s the news. I’m writing a novel! I’ll probably write it in Portuguese but I’ll try to post some excerpts in English and let you now how I’m going.

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Now that is exciting!!! Wishing you luck although am confident you will achieve it! How much time in a day will you devote to it?

  2. arlihama says:

    Looking forward to it! Kinda sad that I don’t understand Portuguese though. 😦 Good luck to all of us! HAHA!

  3. Way to go girl…what an ambition!…I’m still not sure…but, some day I will make my Blog of 2011 about the Special Needs Children I worked with into a book of some sort…That’s my goal…

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

