My NaNoWriMo Theme

Alzheimers udviklingsprojekt

Image by The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, School of D via Flickr

Choosing a theme for my novel was easier than I originally thought it would be. I knew that I wanted to write about something that was close to my heart but also that had some kind of lesson behind it. So I started to look in my own little world for a topic that was both of these things.

it didn’t take me long to find one.

My grandmother has alzheimer. It’s a crippling illness that steals away all that you are one little piece at a time. And it’s been taking my grandmother for the past  few years. As I watched the changes in her I often wandered how it felt to loose your mind, your memories. I wished I could somehow help her, if only by making it easier for her.

So I’m writing a novel about a women struggling with alzheimer and her  good and bad days with this illness. Part of me hopes that it will help me understand this illness better, or maybe just find a way to deal with what it means.

Tagged ,

One thought on “My NaNoWriMo Theme

  1. Great idea!…will be a learning process…with a memory to keep of her forever…

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

