5 Things I’m Afraid to Write About

There are certain topics that I usually stay away from. Some are topics that I know little about other are simply topics that can cause a certain level of conflict between people so I avoid them.

But today I’m taking on the challenge presented to us by Scott Berkun from The Daily Post and I’m sharing with you the 5 topics I’m afraid to talk about.

  1. Religion, it’s a tricky thing for me to talk about for two reasons, firstly I’m not a religious person and as such have a very polemic view of the religions of the world and secondly people have very strong feelings about it and I try my best to respect peoples believes;
  2. Politics, I stay away from it because it’s a complicated theme and one where my believes still need some polishing;
  3. Cooking, I’m simply no good at it, I rarely cook and when I do I keep it as simple as possible to avoid disasters;
  4. Parenting, although I have briefly touched the subject of bad parenting I am not one to give advices, at least until I have my own little humans to look out for;
  5. My childhood, in many ways I had a blessed childhood but I find it hard to talk about the challenges I faced trough it.

Maybe in the near future I’ll find the courage and willpower to talk about some of these topics, after all the best way to learn and grow is experiencing.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “5 Things I’m Afraid to Write About

  1. Best to focus on subjects where you’re bursting with ideas. I almost never blog on religion because (I live in the U.S.) it is insanely divisive and makes many people too uncomfortable (and I want my readers to keep returning.) I rarely blog on politics as I find them boring. Ditto for kids — I have none and the blogosphere is jammed with people going on about their kids.

    I’m voting for number five. The tougher bits are always where the best material is hiding. Start blogging it and you will learn a great deal about yourself as you do so — and quite likely find many others, like me, who didn’t have such an easy time of it.

    Blogging, ideally, is about finding and making emotional and intellectual connections across age, gender, race and cultural identity.

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

