International Day Agaisnt Fascism and Antisemitism

Every year on the 9th of November the UNITED network organises a European-wide campaign to remember the past of antisemitism and the actions of the Nazi’s against the Jew population and to protest against contemporary forms of fascism and antisemitism.

There is a world of pain associated with this day. So many human beings suffered in the  hands of Adolph Hitler. The actions that were committed against the Jews and humankind during the holocaust are something that we should never forget. They must be remember so that no one is ever made to suffer discrimination again.

And yet although we all admit to this truth there is still, in many places in this world, racism, discrimination and acts of violence against people based only one what their origins, cultural or racial, are.

There is a quote from Martin Niemöller that I hold close to my heart.

“When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.”

It is meant to reminds us that we cannot look the other way. That we are all part of a unity called humanity and that we cannot sit still as we see others be discriminated. I hope that one day everyone can truly follow the sentiment behind this quote of helping and protecting the fellow man, regardless of his race or believes.

It is my most sincere wish that racism and fascism are eliminated from this earth, and that everyone has ever been a victim of racism can find peace and justice.

Tagged , , , ,

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

