NaNoWriMo a Writing Roler Coaster

NaNoWriMo is now coming to an end, only two more days to go. It’s been an amazing experience and a crazy ride. If you love to write, always wanted to write a book or even have an idea for a book you need to try NaNoWriMo, the community is amazing and keeps you motivated. But most of all… It’s lots of fun!

As for me the experience taught me allot. I reinforced my writing habits and learned allot about writing a novel, and plots, and character building. I nailed some deadlines and failed others, but over all it was a really positive experience.

But what you really want to now is if I’m finishing NaNoWriMo!

The answer is: yes and no.

Let me explain. I’m almost 30,000 words behind on my word count, and although if I worked hard I could still reach 50,000 I don’t think I will because my story is coming to an end. At 20,000 something words I’m one, maybe two, chapters away from finishing my story.

You could say this is a failure but for me I’ve already won!

Sure the story is probably full of holes and needs more editing than I would like to imagine, but it’s there, just like I wanted it and for me that makes me a winner! After all isn’t the whole point of NaNoWriMo to write a novel? I think so…

You can read the rough draft of my novel here! Enjoy! In the mean time I’m going to write the end of it! ;P

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo a Writing Roler Coaster

  1. Congratulations!! I’m so happy for you! 😀

  2. snagglewordz says:

    That’s awesome! I agree, so much fun and the community is really supportive and motivating. Just think what a great talking point it is too… “Oh, you know, I wrote a novel last month.” 😉

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

