Finding Balance

Time

After listening to the talk by Tony Schwartz on The Myths of the Overworked Creative I realized what I was doing to myself. Everyday, except for holidays and weekends, I wake up at 7h3o a.m. work starts at nine and I life a block away from it so It’s not for the commute. The truth is it takes me forever to get ready in the morning, and I’m starting to suspect it has something to do with lack of sleep. I usually go to bed around 1h, 1h30 a.m. which leaves me with about 6h to sleep, and that’s assuming I fall asleep right away.

We all do this, we work to hard and rest to little. It’s about time we re-learn balance.

With all the technology in our life’s we became these creatures that are incapable of real sustainable balance. And it’s not just the balance between work and rest, nowadays we find it hard to balance friends and family, personal projects and work. We say we don’t have the time any more, the time to meet friends for coffee, to cook our own lunch, to clean the house or have fun.

But this rhythm, of all work and no play, isn’t sustainable, so we brake down. We enter into depressions and overworked doctors fill us up with drugs cause it’s faster, easier. We burnout and one day don’t get up for work cause we just can’t do it any more. We’re always so busy and so tired that we don’t even have the time to share love with those around us, the time to enjoy life.

We as a society need to change this. We need to stop and slow down, cause at the rhythm we’re going things are not going to end well.

And what about me? I need to get at least a solid 7h of sleep every night. That means going to bed at 00h30 , 23h30 to play it safe. That shouldn’t be to hard.

As trivial as finding balance and getting more hours of sleep sounds, it’s not! I’ve seen what happens when people burn out, so desperate for an escape from their hectic life’s that they were willing to do anything. Some withdraw and give up on living, others end their own life’s because the pressure and the rhythm society demands are to much, and leave no time for the good things in life.

Slow down! Look around and enjoy the world around you! If you stop for five minutes the world won’t crumble to pieces, it’s okay!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Finding Balance

  1. You are so right…and we all are thinking just that…it’s the doing it that seems to be the problem…so we need to take that first step…maybe 30 minutes earlier to bed…”baby steps” is what I call it…mkg

Let me know what's your opinion on this topic!

